#banterwithablogger – Chapter Two!

HI FANS, FAN KICKS AND THOSE WHO HAVE YET TO DECIDE!

Soooooo, were back with our next chapter of #banterwithablogger and this time I had to make them really think! So Februaury’s Question was …

Who is your favourite West End Star?

Keira Dulake – 

“Being a techie, I am usually never too fussed by what cast I see in a show and it wouldn’t determine my ticket choice! However, if I had to pick someone it would be Barbra Streisand. She has lungs of steel and was always someone I’d listen to or inspiration whilst I was training for my Grade 8! If I had to choose someone who is in West End a lot at the moment, it would of course be the fab Miss Carrie Hope Fletcher, such a good heart and voice!”

Charlie Reynolds – 

“For me, it has to be Carrie Hope Fletcher. Interestingly, I have only seen her in one production, and that is as Éponine in Les Misérables at the Queen’s Theatre. She was fantastic, and it was Carrie who in fact converted me into a Les Mis fan. I’d actually seen the show before, and despite it’s hype, did not enjoy it. However, upon seeing it the second time with the wonderful Carrie, I fell in love with her as an actress and had a new outlook on the show because of that.

Not only has she gone one too star in other roles, she also has a wonderful YouTube channel, ItsWayPastMyBedTime. I instantly subscribed after seeing Carrie in Les Misérables and since then have really enjoyed watching Carrie’s videos. She is kind, intelligent and hilarious. She also has a huge passion for the creative arts, whether it is the theatre or writing and she truly cares about it. It is inspiring to watch and you get a huge insight into what it is like to be an actress on the West End.  She is also a huge Walt Disney World fan too, which is always a bonus for me! I was thrilled to hear that she would be starring in The Adams Family, but am so gutted that I won’t be in the UK to see it. Wishing you all the best Carrie!”

Katie Rose –

“There are so many West End performers that I love watching on stage; however there is always one that I love above all. Jon Robyns, not familiar to some, but those who do I hope they understand why I do! I saw Jon for the first time in the original cast of Avenue Q, and met him in my first stage door encounter (the first of many). I then saw him in Spamalot and from there the love grew and since I have seen every performance he has been in, Dessa Rose, Memphis (alternative Huey), Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, Legally Blonde, and Sister Act.

His next production is The Wedding Singer which is touring the UK and can’t wait to see! He is great in every role he plays, I love his voice, and he is genuinely a really nice guy, who now knows me by name and will always stop to chat and catch up. I can’t wait to see what future roles he will be in!”

Dawn Bush – 

“I think my favourite MT stars are the ones that surprise me with their talent. As the – shall we say -more mature member of the group (mature like fine wine or good cheese, not mature like last week’s socks) you’ll probably get the more retro answers from me, so here goes.

I remember Bonnie Langford (she of Soap and Dancing on Ice fame – not together, you understand, soap and ice-skating, well, it just wouldn’t work, would it? What a mess) when she was a child star.

She was a regular on children’s TV, playing Violet Elizabeth Bott in the Just William stories. She had the perfect squeaky voice for the part, and was universally hated by my family, and regarded with a sort of proprietal jealousy by me, as I was convinced I could play the part better; a belief that was as arrogant as it was mistaken. I will never forget her standing in front of William, stamping her foot and shrieking with a horrendous lisp: “I’m going to thqueam and thqueam and thqueam until I’m thick!” It became an irritating catch phrase that I used on my brother when he got above himself. We don’t speak.

Fast forward about 15 years, and dear Bonnie was one of the stars in that new show, Cats, that everyone was convinced couldn’t possibly work. I nearly didn’t see it, because I couldn’t stand her; but the lure of Brian Blessed, who had won my respect playing Augustus in the very bloodthirsty period drama I, Claudius (we used to call it I, Clavdivs because of the pretentious lettering used in the opening credits) was too much. I couldn’t wait to see what he was like as a Musical Theatre star.

I wasn’t disappointed; he was fabulous. He played Old Deuteronomy and Bustopher Jones with equal dexterity – very light on his feet for such a big man, and a delight to watch; but he was eclipsed, to my eternal surprise, by the Langford.That irritating little brat had blossomed into the most gorgeous, leggy redhead. The squeaky voice was still in evidence, but boy, could that girl dance. She was mesmerising. I couldn’t take my eyes off her. She was a joy to watch. She remains in my memory as one of my favourite examples of Triple Threat – singing, dancing and acting; but for me, her dancing was the thing that set the stage alight.

Go Bonnie!! I wish I had your talent.”

SOOOO … That concludes month two of #banterwithablogger … remember to email us with your suggestions for questions, some great ones coming in!

Toss Toss xx

Leave a Reply

